Donetsk, Jun 22 — The Donetsk and Lugansk People’s Republics and the Zaporozhye and Kherson regions have completed the establishment of election commissions, Russia’s Central Election Commission (CEC) reported on its website.

“The new regions have set up four regional election commissions, 100 territorial election commissions and some 2,000 district election commissions” CEC Deputy Chairman Nikolai Bulayev said.

It is planned to create 328 ex-territorial election commissions of the new regions in 81 Russian provinces, he said.

In May, President Vladimir Putin signed a law on elections in the regions under martial law to enable them to elect deputies to the regional parliaments. Earlier this week, DPR parliamentarian Yelena Shishkina said that the Republic was ready to launch the election process.

On September 10 which is Single Voting Day in Russia, the DPR will hold elections to the People’s Council (parliament) and municipal bodies. The voting in the new regions can last for several days in connection with the situation on frontlines.*jk