Donetsk, Jun 15  — DAN. The Russian security agencies have allowed elections in the Donetsk and Lugansk People’s Republics and Zaporozhye and Kherson regions, Election Commission Chairperson Ella Pamfilova said on Thursday.

“The Commission received the election proposals from the heads of the new regions on June 11, ” Pamfilova said in a CEC live stream. “On June 14, it held consultations with representatives of the Russian Defense Ministry and Security Service over voting possibilities in the new territories.”

The martial law is in effect in the new regions, so elections require the approval of the Russian security agencies, she said.

In May, President Vladimir Putin signed a law on elections in the regions under martial law to enable the Donetsk and Lugansk People’s Republic and Kherson and Zaporozhye regions to elect deputies to the regional parliaments.

Earlier this week, DPR parliamentarian Yelena Shishkina said that the Republic was ready to launch the election process.

On September 10 which is Single Voting Day in Russia, the DPR will hold elections to the People’s Council (parliament) and municipal bodies. The voting can last for up to three days.*jk