Donetsk, Oct 19 — DAN. Russian President Vladimir Putin has signed a decree introducing martial law in the four new regions of the Russian Federation.

“Martial law had been in force in the DPR, LPR and the Kherson and Zaporozhye regions even before their accession to Russia, and now we need to formalize it within the Russian legal system, ” Putin said at a session of the Security Council. “So I signed a decree introducing martial law in these four Russian regions.”

He said that the document would be immediately sent to the Federation Council for approval.*jk