Donetsk, Nov 19 - DAN. Donetsk Republic faction deputy Vladimir Bidevka was elected chairman of the Donetsk People’s Republic parliament as 98 of 100 legislators supported his candidacy.

Denis Pushilin was speaker of the DPR’s 1st parliament.

Bidevka, a well-known Donetsk Republic faction activist, has been an DPR lawmaker since November 2014. In the 1st parliament, he was deputy chairman of the committtee on information policy and information technology and later on chaired the commtitee on constitutional legislation and state development.

DPR residents elected the new Head of the Republic and the parliament on November 11. Denis Pushilin won a majority of votes and was elected Head of the Republic. The Donetsk Republic and Free Donbass social movements won 74 and 26 seats in parliament, respectively.

The DPR parliament (People’s Council) is the only top legislative body in the Republic. Elected for five years. It brings together 100 deputies. The election procedure is spelled out by the election law. A DPR resident who has turned 21 years of age is eligible to run for parliament.*jk