Donetsk, Oct 7 – DAN. DPR Head Denis Pushilin has congratulated Russian President Vladimir Putin on his 68th birthday.

"Donbass feels exeptional gratitude to you. We are endlessly grateful for your personal contribution into the settlement of the civil conflict in Donbass, for the precious humanitarian aid that not only sustained us but provided us with an opportunity for development and making plans for the future that we definitely foresee within Russia."

Pushilin wished Putin health, strong working capacity and success.

"You have already secured a place among outstanding historical figures who transformed the world, and more achievement are awaiting you. We wish you peace and goodness from millions of our hearts."

Vladimir Putin was born on October 7, 1952 in Leningrad. In 1970, Vladimir Putin became a student of law department at Leningrad State University, earning his degree in 1975. After graduating from Leningrad State University, Putin was assigned to work in the state security agencies.

Having completed his studies at the Andropov Institute, Vladimir Putin left for East Germany in 1985 and worked there until 1990.

After returning to Leningrad from Germany in 1990, Vladimir Putin became assistant to the rector of Leningrad State University in charge of international relations. In 1996, he and his family moved to Moscow, where his political career began.

In March 1997, he was appointed Deputy Chief of Staff of the Presidential Executive Office and Chief of Main Control Directorate.

In August 1999, Putin was appointed Prime Minister of the Russian Government. Shortly before the New Year of 2000 rolled in, President of Russia Boris Yeltsin proposed that Vladimir Putin become Acting President.

On December 31, 1999, Vladimir Putin became Acting President of the Russian Federation.

Vladimir Putin was elected President of Russia on March 26, 2000, and was re-elected to a second term on March 14, 2004. On May 8, 2008, he was appointed Prime Minister by presidential executive order.

Vladimir Putin was re-elected President of Russia on March 4, 2012 and then on March 18, 2018. *ot