Donetsk, Sep 20 — DAN. The Donetsk and Lugansk People’s Republics and the Zaporozhye and Kherson regions will become part of Russia’s Southern Military District starting March 1, 2024, according to the information published on the federal portal of draft regulatory legal acts.

The District will be reconfigured on the strength of amendments to draft presidential decree No 1144 on the Military-Administrative Division of the Russian Federation, dated September 20, 2010.

The Russian Defense Ministry’s interactive map of the military districts included the new territories last year, but it was not fixed by law.

Russia has four military districts: Southern, Western, Central and Eastern and the Northern Fleet Joint Strategic Command. The draft decree also envisions the establishment of new districts.*jk